shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow 46 richwood-b-and-banner

Freephone (uk only)

0800 6127649

 

Bookings

+44 (0)1803 293729

 

 

phone_icon_by_cemagraphics shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow
bottomshadow

What people are saying about the Richwood...

..see also on the Freetobook page: click on the "SEARCH" button!

 

 

 

phone_icon_by_cemagraphics

Of course, we filter out the bad reviews, you can't please everyone all of the time, but we are very happy that we please the majority most of the time!

 

17th May 2014, guest from London: "Really lovely and friendly and we couldn't falt the staff in any way. A great place to stay. The Lebanese food served at the Richwood was all hand made and simply delicious and we would highly recommend anyone to try the cusine."

Tip: "The local station of Torre was within walking distance of the Richwood and was perfect for getting to Torquay Psignton and Exeter St Davids a must for us not having a car."

10th May 2014, guest from Exeter: "Very friendly family run hotel, great welcome on our arrival plenty of information available in hotel for local attractions.

Facilities in hotel superb all you could want and rooms clean , warm and cosy"

Tip: "Tried local restaurants/ pubs for lunch time meals all very good and priced ok.

Ferries that run from harbour to various places around Torquay, big wheel is another attraction worth a visit"

2nd May 2014, guest from Banbury: "Warm welcoming and very friendly atmosphere. Extremely helpful - would recommend. "

Tip: "All local amenities easy to get to either by foot or bus and would definitely recommend the ferry to Brixham extremely good value for money. "

1st May 2014, guest from Cobham: "Had a lovely (and very reasonable) two night stay with delightful owners who prepared us the most amazing Lebanese meal. Cooked breakfast was great too. Our rooms were small but had perfectly adequate en-suites with exceptionally clean sheets and comfy bed, which suited us fine - didn't go away to stay in a hotel room! Thank you ladies and lovely waitresses for a most enjoyable weekend break. Swimming pool wasn't open so only put 4 for Facilities as we couldn't judge that or the jacuzzi, pool table was good though! "

29th April 2014, guest from Birmingham: "The service was second to none. Facilities were excellent and the services were immaculate. Looking forward to the next visit !" Tip: "There are lots of activities and tourist attractions for people of all ages including Caves, the Zoo, the big wheel, Boat rides to Brixham and Paignton. Short drives to Dartmouth, Becky's Falls for those who appreciate natural beauty."

28th April 2014, guest from Basingstoke: "Everyone was lovely and polite, and the service was fabulous! "

Tip: "Paignton zoo and living coasts are really good days out."

24th April 2014, guest from Wolverhampton: "very friendly and welcoming" Tip: "lots to do, walks on beach, bars, shops and sight seeing also not far from dartmouth, paington"

23rd April 2014, guest from Treorchy: "Lovely friedly people with generous welcome" Tip: "Must try the lebanese set meal it was excellent "

13th April 2014, guest from Southampton: "we love the stay here. everything was just perfect, the rooms and all the facilities were so comfortable. my friends even said that they wish they could spend few more days here, as just staying in the rooms is pleasant enough for a holiday. We traveled there as a group of 10 students, which might have caused a bit problems but the Veronica was very flexible for us, not so strict as I thought. I will definetely go for The Richwood if I come back here the next time. Highly recommend. The Richwood is about 2 miles from the city centre and 1 miles from the train station, so it is a bit far for walking. (but with a taxi, that is not a big problem actually). "

Tip: "the value is even better when you come here at the beginning of the holiday, as the Richwood might have several offers such as stay 1 night, the other night is free. it was so gooddddd in deed."

12th April 2014, guest from Epping: "Owners extremely friendly and helpful."

9th April 2014: "Thanks for a great stay. The Lebanese meal was very delicious and full of different herbs. Worthwhile trying it. Lovely evening, the staff were attentive and very friendly. We learnt a lot about Lebanon."

3rd April 2014, guest from Brierley Hill: "We received a very warm welcome. Excellent lebanese food! For the summertime there's a lovely pool & hot tub with attractive patio area. Pool table & TV lounge. We had a standard double room ensuite & although the room was rather small it was clean and good value for money overall. The bedroom decor was quite dated but for what we paid this wasn't a problem. The breakfasts were very tasty, we paid an extra £4 each for a cooked breakfast. The service was excellent. There's a small attractive bar, very pleasant for a drink to finish off the evening. " Tip: "We enjoyed a walk round Torquay harbour, there's an indoor attraction called 'Living Coasts' which looked very interesting. We found a nice Spanish Tapas bar (Mi Coto). The town centre is pleasant & clean with lots of character. We walked across to Babbacombe Bay with nice views. "

2nd April 2014, guest from Llanelli: "Hotel was clean and tidy. Room was compact but fine for a 2 night stay. Inclusive Lebanese meal was excellent. Continental breakfast was rather sparse and it would benefit from additional items such as yoghurts and cheeses etc."

Tip: "Torquay was quiet in March (not unexpected and good for those who prefer a quieter time of year to visit a busy seaside town). Lots of other areas to visit including the Old Walls vineyard."

31st March 2014, guest from Atherstone: "My partner and I enjoyed our stay at the Richwood Hotel, the owners and staff were marvellous, very friendly and obliging.The Lebanese meal was excellent. Expect a hotel set in a Victorian setting, high ceilings etc, a short walk to shops and the sea front. Very comfortable bed. Thank all the staff for being so attentive." Tip: "We had a great time as enthusiasts by going to the Riveriaria Leisure centre for a great gym and swim. "

21st March 2014, guest from Amesbury: "Very welcoming and friendly, definitely go again. Worth the money."

Tip: "Close to town and the seafront. Many different places to eat."

“Very welcoming place - perfect”Reviewed 22 January 2013:

My two night stay was just about perfect. Kevin does all manner of jobs at the Richwood - he's a lovely fella and very funny. He cooks a great breakfast. I was made to feel very welcome and will be back soon.  

“Great service” Reviewed 12 January 2013

Booked a two night stay here did not expect much as it is a winter time but the owners and barman Kevin exceed our expectations! Service was great, the rooms are clean and breakfast is yummy. Also received very warm welcome when we arrive and on every morning. Can't imagine how busy and lovely this place could be during Summer!  Hint to everyone, do not think to skip that breakfast just to get a little more sleep, you will sure regret it!

6th November 2013: We stayed at this hotel for two nights but wish it had been longer. Our room was large and perfect for our two dogs to roam around. Veronica and Saida were lovely host and made us feel very welcome and food excellent. We would certainly like to visit again.

31st October, 2013: 'Lovely hosts!'  Booked as part of non-profit deal so pleased with our stay. Our standard room was small and basic but room was warm and clean so no cause for complaint. Hosts extremely welcoming and friendly, with polite and courteous service throughout. Rules and decor all part of the quirky rather fun nature of the establishment! (If you are expecting modern Travellodge/ Premier Inn facilities then this is not the place for you.)

31st October, 2013: 'Our stay': We found the hotel to be very clean, the food was good and the room although the hotel is old we found it good and very warm as we have come from Spain so the cold was a problem when out. The hosts were lovely and we would stay there again if we come back to the UK.

26th October, 2013: 'Thank You!!': Saida and Veronica made us very welcome! The food was excellent as was the company of our delightful hosts. The room was clean and the hotel pleasant. Hope to come back in the summer! xxx

26th October, 2013:  KBG 'short break away'

Loved our stay at the Richwood the rooms were clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable . The meal was well cooked Wednesday night and the breakfast was nice in the morning so all in all we had a very nice break and would recommend this hotel to anyone. And the hosts could not do enough to keep you happy.

25th October, 2013 Amazon: 'Lebanese delights' The Lebanese meal we had here as part of a very reasonable deal, was a revelation. Some of the tastiest food we have ever eaten, which has made some of us turn to the recipe book! A warm welcome.

25th October, 2013: Our Richwood Experience': We Had a Really Pleasant stay at "The Richwood" starting with a very friendly welcome. Veronica and Sadia were really down to earth, the breakfast was cooked to perfection and the room was spotless. Salam Alekum to you both. Terry & Linda South Wales

21st October, 2013 KGB: 'A very comfortable stay':  I would recommend the Richwood to anyone who would like a short break. The food was superb and we had one of the best night’s sleep in a long while. Veronica and Saida were excellent hosts and I would definitely stay there again

16th October, 2013: 'great place to stay': A warm welcome, and a comfy clean room, with friendly helpful owners, and a delicious Lebanese meal made this a PERFECT weekend away. The pool area looked very inviting - (shame the weather wasn't!) and a hot tub too... We look forwards to a return visit.

9th October, 2013: 'Wonderful stay!!': The Richwood is highly recommended. The premises are clean and well maintained. The rooms are correctly laid out and clean with nice facilities. Swimming pool and games room is an added bonus - the pool was clean and pool area very welcoming.

The food was well prepared and most enjoyable. Veronica and Saida are great hosts and faultess with their service. The location is perfect for access to Torquay Harbour (few mins by taxi) and note, the no.12 bus stops outside and will take you conveniently in the other direction to Paignton & Brixham. Perfect for your tour of Torbay.  All in all, we highly recommend the Richwood!

24th September, 2013:'THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY': Had a very warm welcome from Saida even though we turned up a day early (our mistake). we were given the ground room as we had a dog with us. spotlessly clean and everything we needed. the breakfast was lovely, piping hot. Both Saida and Veronica were always smiling and checking everything was ok. always there to greet us and wish us a nice day out. The Lebanese menu is stunning; the Mezza is highly recommended. great value for money and the site is perfect away from the crowds; 5 star highly recommended !

24th September, 2013:'wonderful hotel': Wonderful hosts. lovely room. awesome breakfasts.

19th September, 2013:'Short break': I spent 3 days at the Richwood early September and had a wonderful welcome with excellent food and a very comfortable room, this is not my first visit and it certainly wont be my last.

19th September, 2013:'Excellent': Excellent in everything. Thanks to Veronica and Saida

5th September, 2013:'Marvellous Hosts': Saida & Veronica were marvellous hosts at The Richwood. we had a three night stay and could not fault a thing. We enjoyed a superb Lebanese meal cooked by our hosts, which we did not want to finish. We made use of the lovely pool. All in all a wonderful stay.....we will be back & soon. Ange & Caz

29th August, 2013: 'Love to come back' I would recommend booking the Richwood if you were planning a break in the Torquay or surrounding area. The establishment is run perfectly and it is inspiring to see how hard two people work too provide a comfortable stay and do their utmost to ensure you are looked after. If ever back in the area we will most definitely stay again. Thanks Veronica and Sadia for a fantastic break.. Donna, Derek & TJ xx

27th August, 2013: Very warm and friendly place where you feel yourself as a part of a family visitor. Perfect for traveller on a budget with a walking distance to a sea cost offers a good quality service. Would recommend to a friend and certainly will stay there again myself.

22nd August, 2013: 'friendly and good value for money'  This is a lovely small hotel with good facilities and friendly proprietors. Excellent for those on a budget as their online deals are great. Much better than expected for the amount we paid for the hotel. Dog friendly in the rooms but not in the inside public areas to protect other guests which is a good balance. Will be returning here again when visiting local family.

21st August, 2013:'Great Hotel': Me and my son had a great time in Torquay and this was no doubt due to the fantastic guest house we stayed in. Saida and Veronica are really nice hosts and always made us feel welcome. The Lebanese food was excellent and the breakfasts were always freshly cooked and delicious. Our room was superb and the beds comfortable. The icing on the cake was the pool, my son couldn’t wait to get back to the hotel use it. This is an ideal base for me as my family live in Dorset and I will definitely be returning next year.

"Bargain 2 day break” Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was booked on a budget as a birthday surprise for my husband; birthdays just after Christmas are such a pain, weather is usually rubbish and hardly anything is open. That said, we really enjoyed our stay in Torquay. The hotel was lovely, full of character and charm, and the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I don't walk very well, but the hotel was near enough to the Torquay seafront to walk in about 15 mins, leaving the car at the hotel. this has to be a godsend in high summer! We had a lovely room, beautifully decorated, and my only problem with this property is the number of stairs we needed to use to get to it: my fault really, as I never thought to say, when booking, that I had mobility problems! Maybe Veronica can clarify if they have ground-floor rooms? Room Tip: we were upgraded to room 16 as a birthday present from Veronica & Saida; it was a very nice room...

 “post Christmas break” Reviewed 8 January 2013

Had a great time in Torquay after Christmas which was really helped by a fantastic stay at this hotel. Veronica and her team were all very helpful and friendly and could not do more to look after us. The food was excellent, our room was lovely with a view over the pool adn all in all we were very satisfied with our stay. I would be happy to reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice break in Torquay!

“Fantastic Short Break” Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just got back from a lovely 2 night stay with Veronica and Saida at The Richwood. Lovely clean homely room and a warm welcome. Breakfast was lovely and Kevin the Barman was a font of knowledge for numerous things. We are planning a return in the summer when we plan to lounge beside the pool weather permitting. Lovely hotel perfect location.

“KGB DEAL”

Just had an excellent stay in room 10, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and warm, breakfast beautifully cooked and presented, couldn't ask for more. Well done Veronica and Saida, not forgetting barman/waiter Kevin. Would be very happy to return at tariff prices.

Room Tip: Nothing to compare with, our room was facing the road but were not troubled by traffic noise at all.

“kgb deal” Reviewed 12 November 2012

have just come back after a two day stay at the Richwood, veronica and kevin were most helpfull, the room was very nice, the beds were comfy, the richwood was lovely, very clean, and a real bargain, i highly reccomend it , and the breakfast was very good to, would def go there again, it was a pleasurable stay, thank you veronica and saida. Room Tip: we stayed in room 15, it was very quiet and warm

“Good KGB deal” Reviewed 10 November 2012

A friendly welcome from Veronica and Kevin. We were able to park on the forecourt and use our Bus Passes to travel on No.12 Bus just from the stop up the road. Our room was compact but we had everything that we needed for our 2 night stay, it was very clean and comfortable. Thankyou Kevin who cooked Barrys breakfast on both mornings and entertained us well. We would love to return but only if we could get another cheap deal. Thankyou.

Room Tip: A little noisy at the front but we slept well.

“Weekend break” Reviewed 10 November 2012

We booked this break using a voucher deal as a short break in Torquay to visit family. The hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable.

As we were there visiting family we did not spend much time in the hotel but it was an excellent base for visiting the area.

“Our 2 night stay at The Richwood” Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I have just spent 2 very enjoyable days at the Richwood. The location is ideal as we were able to catch the No.12 bus into Torquay or Brixham within 25 yards of the hotel. It was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.  

“Great stay at the Richwood” Reviewed 30 October 2012

I am studying English at the LMU in Munich. In order to improve my language skills and to gain some work experience abroad, I have spent 8 weeks at the Richwood this summer. I was made very welcome by the hosts Veronica and Saida and it was a very pleasant stay in Torquay. My room was very comfortable and I had everything I needed. Mainly, I had to help with breakfast, help the staff with the housekeeping jobs and help out at the reception. Veronica and Saida were helpful and friendly, which made my stay very enjoyable. I have enjoyed my stay in Torquay a lot and there was always enough time to see the local sites, such as Cornwall, Exeter and Dartmouth. If you are looking for a hotel that has a great staff, clean and tidy rooms, and is reasonably priced, then you should definitely go for the Richwood!

"WARM & FRIENDLY” Reviewed 20 October 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night KGB deal at the Richwood Hotel & would like to say that although the room was small it was cozy & well equipt .The bed was very comfortable & there was plenty of tea/coffee/& biscuits!! Also free wifi which is an added bonus as at lot of hotels charge extra for this facility !! The small radiator made the room very warm. As it was out of season it was quiet,so not a lot going on but would like to return in the summer so could make use of the lovely outdoor swimming pool & sun terrace!! We only met Saida & kevin,both were very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was really nice in the Beirut bistro,would love to have been able to sample Saida's Lebanese food,shame the bistro was closed on the evenning. Would like to wish you good luck on four in a bed!!

“Good value for money” Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two night KGB deal at The Richwood. We were made very welcome our breakfast was very good. Unfortunately we did not try the restaurant but from reading the reviews I wish we had. Our room was clean and warm which was good as the nights were cold outside. The hotel was walkable to the town and the seafront which we did both days of our stay. All in all we found the hotel very good value.

“A great 4 day stay” Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Richwood in August for a week and vowed to come back with our 2 sons, 1 is 20, the other is 23.

We arrived quit late on Thursday night at around 9:30, on 4th October, Even though it was late, we were greeted at the door by both Veronica and Saida the owners, and Kevin the barman who had already got my pint pouring as we had just covered a 4 hour journey from London. we were shown our rooms my wife and i were in room 12, our 2 sons were in room 17, The rooms were bright and airy beds maid with fresh linen and towels in the on suite, tea, coffee and milk on the cabinet next to the kettle, Also a surprise the tv had built in dvd player so if you were bored with what was on tv you could watch a dvd instead, being a victorian house the ceilings were high and we thought the central heating would not cope with such large rooms but the rads worked fine, We like coming here because where we live in london everything is square and made of concrete, so its a real throw back to when houses were built on grand scale,

Guests are asked to fill out "A breakfast list" for what you would like for the cooked part of your breakfast, this could be changed any time during the day for the next morning, great idea!.

As a result of this trip both my son's are coming back to stay for long weekends stays with there girlfriends, and my wife and we, will be back with our daughter and her 2 children, in the new year, Thanks once again for your hospitality, and look forward to seeing you next year, I will happily recommend your B & B to anyone I no wanting to come to Torquay.

 "Pleasantly surprised” Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having purchased the KGB deal we were pleased with the level of service Richwood offered. The staff were friendly, breakfast good and location convenient. Thank you for making our Torquay trip enjoyable.

“Brilliant 3day Break!!!” Reviewed 25 September 2012

Hotel very clean, loved the pool!! Wish we would have eaten in the bistro as we ate locally and wish we hadn’t !!!

Veronica and Saida very very very friendly, amazing, and cooked a very mean brekki between them.

Would highly recommend.

"Family reunion!” Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just returned from two days at The Richwood using 2nights KGB deal. 3 brothers joined me using normal tariff. 8 adults in all. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Treated with care and respect, nothing was too much trouble for Veronica and Saida and also Kevin the characterful Bar-steward!!!and general handyman!. I must add in all the numerous accommodations I have experienced in the UK the attention to details such as breakfast served on hotplates was much appreciated. Cleanliness exceptional in all parts of the Richwood. One of my brothers and his wife stayed with a previous owner and remarked that it was clear that Veronica and Saida had invested a great deal of energy and finance into improving guest experience and comfort.

"Very good 2 day stay." Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 2 night KGB special deal at the Richwood and found it most enjoyable, very clean, very comfortable beds and the rooms were clean as were the towels and en-suite bathroom. Veronica and Saida were very accommodating and helpful, nothing was too much for them. We even went for a swim at 9.00am and the pool was heated as described and very clean....We would recommend The Richwood as a good base for exploring Torquay and surrounding areas. Well worth the money....Thanks Veronica and Saida.

“A Very Enjoyable Stay at a Lovely, Friendly Hotel” 11 September 2012

My husband, 5yr old son and I stayed at The Richwood for a weekend at the beginning of September. We found the owners, Veronica and Said very friendly and most welcoming. We had a family room with a double and bunk beds which my son loved. The room was a good size and very clean and nicely furnished. The owners have obviously invested in quality beds and pillows as it was extremely comfortable. Our ensuite was also very clean and the shower was great and looked like it was relatively new. There were also quality complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities in the room with delicious cookies. The pool area is amazing, which is where we spent most of our time as my son loved it. It really is a lovely pool, and very safe for children as it is a constant depth with easy access roman steps at one end. There were also plenty of sun loungers to relax and unwind in the sun. The breakfast was very good, with cereal and toast, tea, coffee and orange juice and a cooked breakfast of choice. We also had a delicious evening meal (Lebanese feast) in the Beirut Bistro freshly prepared by Saida which we would highly recommend. We will most definitely be back for another stay.

 

You should see the reviews left in our Visitors' Book!

Copyright 2014. All rights reserved. The Richwood, 20 Newton Road,

Torquay, Devon, TQ2 5BZ, England

 

Website Created by Swift Creations UK Web Designers

facebook twitter google-plus Zagzig